NOURIX: Micro small rescue LiveCD

I had a problem before while I’m on travel that Linux laptop i had doesn’t boot up and needs rescue CD to reinstall GRUB, but at that time i didn’t have that CD which in most distributions is the first CD of the distribution, so i had to download it from the web, i was lucky that day, the company i was in has a high speed internet connection.

So i made a small command line GNU/linux  ISO CD called NOURIX (only 2.7MB) that it’s used only to reinstall GRUB, the GNU/linux has kernel 2.6.20 and busybox 1.2.2, syslinux-3.8 and GRUB 0.97.

I upload it on my gmail, and if this problem happen again, i will download it easily even with low speed internet connection, burn it on a CD or miniCD., Reinstall GRUB, and boot installed linux and return back to work.

Here are screenshots of  NOURIX running in Qemu:

NOURIX boot screen
NOURIX boot screen

Screenshot-3

2 thoughts on “NOURIX: Micro small rescue LiveCD

  1. Amazing! You’re Genius 🙂 I think next step is to let it boot from a flash drive.

    P.S.: I can see you let go of SuSE in favor of Ubuntu 😉

    1. Yes, I moved to Ubuntu after QT had been sold to Nokia, so i really moved to GNOME from KDE and best for GNOME is Ubuntu and Debian. So i chosed Ubuntu as I’m human (Linux for Humans – Ubuntu slogan).

Leave a comment